skip to main content
Schools Name 2017-2018 Teachers of the Year
Posted On:
Tuesday, June 06, 2017
2017-2018 Teachers of the Year
2017-2018 Teachers of the Year

The Douglas County School System takes pride in its highly qualified, excellent teachers. Every year a teacher from each Douglas County school is honored as that school’s Teacher of the Year (TOTY).

These teachers are extremely dedicated, knowledgeable, and plan to continue in active teaching status in Douglas County. A workshop to help school candidates move forward to potentially become the District Teacher of the Year was held on May 30 in Citizens’ Hall at the Douglas County Courthouse. The 2016-2017 Douglas County TOTY, Rachel Rogers from New Manchester High School, made inspirational remarks and gave suggestions for the next phase of the TOTY competition.

Each teacher’s county level application will be read and scored by a selection committee. The top eight candidates (two each from the middle and high school level and four from the elementary school level) will become semifinalists and will be observed teaching in their classrooms. The selection committee will interview the eight candidates and name a finalist for each area – Elementary, Middle, and High School Teacher of the Year – as well as the overall Douglas County Teacher of the Year. Recognition of all school level candidates and the announcement of the Douglas County Teacher of the Year will take place on Thursday, September 28, at Central Baptist Church. The reception will begin at 4:30 p.m. and the public is invited to attend.

Pictured front row: Richard Parham, Alexander High School; Lauren Cook, Arbor Station Elementary; Kim Munoz, Beulah Elementary; Cassia Milhollin, Bill Arp Elementary; Joseph Bogozan, Bright Star Elementary; Lonnie Woods, Burnett Elementary; Mark Jensen, Chapel Hill Elementary; Jeremy Anderson, Chapel Hill High School; Matt Ulmer, Chapel Hill Middle School; Anisa Lucas-Grant, Chestnut Log Middle School; Jenifer Sledd, Dorsett Shoals Elementary; Marvalane Ivey, Douglas County High School; Tijuana Toure, Eastside Elementary; Hannah Milner, Factory Shoals Elementary; Lawanda Watson, Factory Shoals Middle School

Second Row: Kristie Parham, Fairplay Middle School; Angela Wilder, Holly Springs Elementary; Amos Bishop, Lithia Springs Elementary; Keenan Lee, Lithia Springs High School; Sarah Anthony, Mason Creek Elementary; Judy Cross, Mason Creek Middle School; Heather Camp, Mirror Lake Elementary; Kelly Jones, Mt. Carmel Elementary; Merian Johnson, New Manchester Elementary; Steve Robinson, New Manchester High School; Meredith Myers, North Douglas Elementary

Third Row: Peter Young, Performance Learning Center; Michele Butts, South Douglas Elementary; Dierra Dunn, Stewart Middle School; Niamba Johnson, Sweetwater Elementary; Roxanne Purcell, Turner Middle School; Renee Hodges, Winston Elementary; Angela Whitley, Yeager Middle School

Not pictured: Marie Duncanson, Annette Winn Elementary